McCarren Park, originally named Greenpoint Park, opened to the public in 1906. It was renamed in 1909 after a State Senator, Patrick Henry McCarren. This vast, 35-acre park straddles the border between Greenpoint and Williamsburg, and is home to a running track, many ballfields and athletic facilities. The McCarren Recreational Center, which includes the landmarked McCarren Pool, hosts a gym and community rooms. While the park is extensively used by many athletes, it also promotes passive recreation on its many pleasantly shady lawns.
Unique in many respects, the park has a dog run, bocce and tennis courts, a playground, and several gardens, catering to the varied needs of North Brooklynites, and making it the busiest park in the area, and a destination for visitors as well as photo and film shoots.
The park recently gained 0.5 acre through a successful de-mapping of a stretch of Union Avenue between Driggs Avenue and N 12th Street. The transformation of a street into parkland was proposed by Open Space Alliance of North Brooklyn, and championed by local electeds and the community. The area hosts a weekly year-round farmers market on Saturdays.